The Power to Build a Better Future

13

18 October 2015 by Carol

“Almost every successful person begins with two beliefs: ‘The future can be better than the present’, and ‘I have the power to make it so’.” ~ David Brooks

Chinese symbol for strength

                               Find Yours.

Seven years ago, my world was a very limited, dark place.

I was a different person, feeling lost, isolated, helpless and trapped because I couldn’t see a way out of my situation. It’s difficult enough to understand the dynamics of abuse from the outside looking in; from the inside it’s utter chaos…for the victim. I endured a lot of pain on a daily basis and I struggled to understand why. I understand what it means to feel desperate enough to leave, yet afraid of the repercussions. All I saw were obstacles standing between me and “freedom”; I knew the journey ahead of me would be the most difficult one of my life because I couldn’t see very far in front of me. I could only take leaps of faith , trusting in God to keep me safe as I navigated through the maze wearing a blindfold. The first steps were the most difficult to take, but I found that the farther I traveled along the path, the more empowered I felt. I had help from a small group of professional people; I had the love and support of my family and friends, but the hard work was ultimately down to me. It wasn’t an overnight process and it took every ounce of strength, patience and determination I had, but I did what I set out to do: I escaped from my situation and went on to rebuild my life. Twice.

Do I still question why I had the experiences I did? No. I now know why. Those experiences gave me a purpose ~ to write about what happened to me, even if it means baring my soul; to offer understanding, guidance, and support to those who reach out to me. Most importantly, I want those who are still in their situations to know that it is possible to escape such a situation, rebuild, and heal.

I’m living proof.

13 thoughts on “The Power to Build a Better Future

  1. tcausten says:

    What a beautiful post

  2. Soothing words!
    Thank you for the inspiration and hope!! 🙂

    • Carol says:

      You’re welcome Priscilla! Thank you so much for dropping by! I hope you will continue to do so. I’ve just followed your blog and look forward to reading more from you. 🙂

  3. I am in the same situation. However I do not possess the strenght you have. I need this kind of post in my daily struggles in life. Thank you

  4. What a great strength you have. Beautifully written. #bloggingboosts

Leave a Reply

Meet Carol

Greetings and welcome to Designing Life ~ where you'll learn more about my services as a Life Coach. If you have a brand or product that has relevance to life coaching or making starting over easier, please get in touch. For more information about me, click on my picture. Thanks for visiting!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 744 other followers

Library

