Blogger Recognition Award

16

27 September 2015 by Carol

Blogger Award Graphic

Designing Life’s second award

I simply cannot express just how honored I am to be nominated for another award. It means so much to me that my fellow bloggers ~ Yvonne and Megan ~ consider me worthy of such a nomination. Thank you both very much. I invite you, my readers, to visit their blogs by clicking on their names. The rules for accepting this award: 1. Tell how this blog got started. 2. Give some advice to new bloggers.

Just over 2 years ago, I created Designing Life as a way to share the process of rebuilding. When I moved back to the U.S., I felt like I was starting a new chapter in a new book. I felt a new book was necessary because I needed closure on an extremely painful period of my life. I celebrated being the one holding the pen and creative license to design my life the way I wanted. How liberating!

Designing Life is about to evolve in a new direction. Instead of being about my life, I have decided that it’s the perfect foundation for a new career branch. If you have visited Café Sanctuary, you know about the Outreach Service to help those in abusive situations. I have since decided to take the business a step further and offer Life Coaching to those who are faced with rebuilding their lives including, but not limited to survivors of abuse. I want to help those starting over after divorce, loss, relocation or seeking a new direction. I chose that niche in Life Coaching because I’m experienced in starting over after all of those circumstances. The truth is, I’m extremely excited about the prospect of helping my clients as they shift their paths in a new direction. Of course, it’s a daunting task but, with support, encouragement, and a bit of exploration, it’s exciting and achievable! As far as I’m concerned, we can learn from each other and isn’t that what it’s all about?

Getting on to the advice I have for new bloggers:

  1. Stick to writing what you know and what you’re passionate about. I’m a firm believer in doing what one loves because the passion shines through naturally and it will never seem like work or a chore to do. Additionally, do whatever possible to improve upon your existing skills. I have blogged on WordPress for many years; I’ve written since age 12, but I still jumped at the opportunity to take the Blogging  101 and 201 and Writing 101 courses offered by WordPress. I learned new things in each course and if there are advanced Blogging and/or Writing courses in the future, you can best believe I’ll be taking those, too.
  2. Learn your blogging site’s features inside and out. Whether you use WordPress, Blogger, or something else, try to learn about every feature at your disposal because you might be missing out on a vital element that makes the difference between a good blog and a great blog. Enroll in WordPress courses or just spend some time looking through all the features and trying out every theme, etc.
  3. Make sure your blog is easy to read. Stick with colors that reflect the tone of your blog, but keep in mind that bright colors that clash may affect your readership. Don’t have too many distractions, like GIFs or blinking graphics. Make sure the font isn’t too small. Break up your paragraphs to give pause for thought. Music should be limited to a widget in your sidebar ~ “If you would like to hear songs from our CD/live performance/my favorite playlist, please click the “play” button here.”
  4. Finally…please, please, please proofread to make sure there are no misspellings or grammatical errors. WordPress has a built-in spelling/grammar check and Grammarly is free to use.

My nominees for this award, in no particular order:

  1. ThinkOutside: An expression of personal Freedom
  2. Saint P. blogging
  3. OPRF Life
  4. A Cooking Pot and Twisted Tales
  5. :: FOCALHEART ::
  6. Marlton Trainer
  7. Visuals of Egypt

I invite you to visit the blogs of my nominees, and thank all of my readers for continuing to visit. I appreciate you. 🙂

16 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

  1. Hi Carol. Thank you so much for the nomination! I love that you are using your powers for good after experiencing such painful circumstances. What a wonderful example you are for your children! Peace, love and blessings to you. xo Whitney

    • Carol says:

      Thank you so much for your kind words, Whitney! I want to turn my negative experiences into positive ones. If I can help others by making their journeys easier, so much the better. 🙂

      It was my pleasure to nominate your blog, which I now follow. I do hope you’ll keep in touch. Feel free to connect with me on any social media sites you find me on. {hugs}

  2. Noémie says:

    Thank you so much for your nomination, I’m very honoured to be on your list 🙂

  3. YvoCaro says:

    You deserve the reward my friend. Life Coaching sounds like something you are passionate about and have become good at out of necessity. “Stick to writing what you know and what you’re passionate about.” I couldn’t agree more! Only when I’m passionate about it I can write.

    • Carol says:

      I learned that writing comes easier when we write what we know. I spent years working on a novel that I had to research and I’m not saying I’d never write fiction, but there is a lot more involved and I don’t really have the time at the moment.

  4. Once again Carol, thank you for the nomination. I will get to it as soon as possible.

  5. […] I was also nominated by Carol for the Blogger Recognition Award… Here. […]

    • Carol says:

      How awesome! I love this post. I’m so excited to be doing this collaboration coffee post with you and shall formulate my response very soon. I’m thinking I’ll post on my blog with a link to yours so all of our follows can read what we’re doing. Let me know if you agree. In any case I am so glad we crossed paths and hope that our virtual coffee chats continue regularly. ❤️

Leave a Reply

Meet Carol

Greetings and welcome to Designing Life ~ where you'll learn more about my services as a Life Coach. If you have a brand or product that has relevance to life coaching or making starting over easier, please get in touch. For more information about me, click on my picture. Thanks for visiting!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 742 other followers

Library

